Something New

When you suffer from an anxiety disorder, it is very important to push beyond your perceived boundaries. If you avoid things you fear, the anxiety grows stronger, and will eventually multiply. It’s the nature of the beast.

As such, I am usually on the lookout for something new to try; something to press me out of my comfort zone – no matter how small. Last week, I flew into Los Angeles for the weekend to hang out with my good friend Olga. In honor of fearless Friday, I agreed to join her in something that I’ve been hearing about for the past couple of years.  Something, most of my girlfriends have already tried, and most of them loved.

It’s called Zumba. Even the name is fun to say. Zoom-ba! Zumba is a Latin-inspired dance workout, where the instructor plays lots of loud funky music, and the participants shake their hips and booties to the beat.  At first I thought I might collapse on the floor.  When I realized the first 15 minutes was only a heart palpitating warm-up, I grew very afraid. What if I threw up, suffered an anxiety attack? What if I overheated and had to take my shirt off and everyone saw my bare tummy???

 Then I reminded myself that I have endured some pretty difficult workouts in my lifetime. I dared myself to get through the whole thing without stopping, if I didn’t, I told myself, I was officially old and might as well throw in the towel. That did it. Always a sucker for a challenge, I danced, I jumped, I wiggled, and I jiggled, all the way to the very end. When it was finished, I wanted some more. Zoom-ba is a blast.

Oh yeah, and I didn’t throw up. I didn’t have an anxiety attack. I did overheat and have to take my shirt off, exposing to the world to my bare belly, but I lived to tell the tale. I even posed for a picture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Something New

  1. Shelly T says:

    Way to go!

  2. I love Zumba. My sister teaches it and it’s a blast. I feel so much better after going but I struggle with new moves. I don’t have the dance gene that she does.

  3. Trenton Sims says:

    People all over the world in developed, Western nations suffer from panic attacks and naturally want to know the causes. Panic attacks are a tricky thing to have to endure, and sometimes establish, for a number of reasons. It is a hugely complex medical issue involving the person’s psychological state as well as physical condition. There is a good deal of resemblance and cross-influence happening within the mind and body. Those states only tend to make everything more troublesome to endure, form a variety of viewpoints…

    Our very own web portal
    <http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/concussion-test/

Leave a Reply

