Saying Goodbye

As I put the final touches on my revised manuscript, I find myself revisiting a very familiar situation. I am once again picking up my assassin’s knife and killing stories. At this point, I think I have eliminated as many chapters as I currently have in my book.

The problem was, I originally tried to include far too much in my memoir. Blog writer Amanda Pattersonputs it this way: No one wants to know when you, a crack addict, rode a bicycle for the first time. Unless of course, you rode your bicycle for the first time, while high on crack.

I don’t have a problem cutting out experiences. It’s losing the people that hurts. If it were up to me, I would stuff every single person I have ever cared about into my book. It makes me cringe to cut out friends and family members I adore.

Still, every good story sticks to its theme. Could Have Been Holly Wood revolves around living with a twenty year undiagnosed anxiety disorder. Anything that doesn’t directly relate to that struggle has gotta go.

If you wrote a memoir, what would be the hardest thing for you to leave out?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. Shelly T says:

    I would end up leaving out most of my years of dance classes, performing, musicals I was in, etc. With the exception of using a few pieces for examples, the rest would have no relevance, and yet these were some of my happiest memories…of course hindsight 🙂

  2. hollyyoumans says:

    Interesting Shelly. I didn’t think about it until right now, but the good things that we have to leave out of our life’s theme can really say somthing about our choices. So many potential paths in life.

  3. August McLaughlin says:

    Cutting bits from fiction is tough. Memoir must make those edits far more difficult.
    Congrats on your awesome progress in life and your book! The rewards make the bumpy ride worthwhile. 🙂

  4. I just LOVE the comment about the bike. Wow…so true, right? Amazing what you learn as you go.

Leave a Reply

