Do you like me? Do you really really like me?

We’ve all seen them. Those ubiquitous posts on FaceBook, the ones where a facebooker asks her friends (it’s always a her)to post a memory about them, any memory – good or bad – and they promise to post one back in return. 

As a female, I find this game is enticing. On the one hand, I have to admit the question seems a little annoying.  If I wanted to share a memory with you, I would. Please don’t go fishing for compliments. 

On the other hand, I wondered…what would happen if I posted a similar request. Would I get m/any responses?  Would those responses be along the lines, of “Oh yes, I remember the time you shared your French fries with me in junior high,” or would they be something more exciting? Something, like, “Oh, my dear Holly. My first glorious memory of you was when I spotted you reposing under the Willow tree with the golden sunlight caressing your flawless skin.”

There was only one way to find out. I fearlessly posted the bold question.

The responses?

Well, they weren’t exactly wistful remembrances of my glowing complexion under the Willow tree. They were better than that.

All seven posts were tiny snapshots of a pleasant moment in history from a friend’s point-of-view. 

One made me laugh:

After going for a walk, you got locked out of your second story apartment. And with your best spidey skills attempted to climb the walls to get to the open window… in between the stairs and the window you hung on confidently… it was scary and entertaining. But, I was assured by the fact the manger was walking up the stairs to give you a key.

~ ~ ~

Another made me shake my head at my own ridiculous mistakes (I’m sensing a bit of a pattern here):

~ ~ ~

…the one that comes to mind so vividly right now is when you came to see me on Long Island when we were in, like, 11th grade. It was the day after you got there and we were all doing handstands up against the wall and you decided to give it a try. You were hesitant, I remember, but did it anyway. And well, let’s just say it wasn’t pretty and you were on the next plane home with a broken wrist.

 

Another posting, even involved some special lighting:

~ ~ ~

I remember me, you and Chris S. eating macaroni & cheese watching a Lakers playoff game one early sunlit evening a lifetime ago. Not a care in the world.

 

This little game was more meaningful than I expected.  It was so much fun to remember… 

So, what about you?  Have you ever posted a question like this?  Were you happy with the answers?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you like me? Do you really really like me?

  1. I haven’t played this game on Facebook, but it sounds like you received some fun memories. It’s nice to be pleasantly surprised, isn’t it. 🙂

  2. hollyyoumans says:

    It’s nice when life works out like that.

Leave a Reply

