Oppression – Children of the Gods #1

I will blog soon about my crazy trip up North, but today I have something else to talk about.  There was an exciting package in my mailbox today!  One of my favorite writers, Jessica Therrien, sent me a signed copy of her debut novel, Oppression (Children of the Gods #1).

Jessica and I met at the Southern California Writer’s Conference about a year ago and clicked right away.  I adored her writing and she happened to enjoy mine as well.  We swapped chapters for months, giving honest feedback on each other’s manuscripts.  I fell in love with her main characters Elyse and William, and couldn’t wait for each new chapter of her intriguing story.  Oppression is like Twilight with a twist.  It includes romance, ancient mythology, and oodles of page turning drama.  For a year, I’ve kept the juicy details of Oppression a secret.  Today, I’m excited to share this incredible story with you all.  Oppression is in print and ready for purchase on amazon.com.  You will love this book!

Here’s a brief description: 

There are others like her. Many of them. And they have been waiting for her …for a long time. Elyse knows what it means to keep a secret. She’s been keeping secrets her whole life. Two, actually. First, that she ages five times slower than the average person, so that while she looks eighteen years old, she’s closer to eighty. Second, that her blood has a mysterious power to heal. For Elyse, these things don’t make her special. They make life dangerous. After the death of her parents, she’s been careful to keep her secret as closely guarded as possible. Now, only one other person in the world knows about her age and ability. Or so she thinks. Elyse is not the only one keeping secrets. There are others like her all over the world, descendants of the very people the Greeks considered gods. She is one of them, and they have been waiting for her for a long time. Among so many of her kind, she should not be very remarkable–except for the prophecy. Some believe she will put an end to traditions, safeguarded by violence, which have oppressed her people for centuries. Others are determined to keep her from doing just that. But for Elyse, the game is just beginning–and she’s not entirely willing to play by their rules.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oppression – Children of the Gods #1

  1. Shelly S. says:

    It’s also available from Barnes and Noble for us Nook users. And yes, I just might read it on my Nook and keep my autographed copy unopened. That’s how good this book is already doing!!

  2. Thanks for posting this Holly!! I know you are so busy, and I can’t wait to hear all about the move…still sad 😦

Leave a Reply

