House Hunters – The Real World

Are you a huge fan of HGTV shows?  My husband thinks they’re like watching paint dry. I totally disagree. I can’t get enough of House Hunters, House Hunters International, Love it or Lease it. You name it, I’ve Tivoed it.  

In all my favorite episodes, there’s a cute couple where one person wants square footage and a house that makes sense on paper, while other one looks for something charming that “speaks” to her (or him).  They’re adorable.  They seem so cute when they don’t meet eye to eye. 

I see more clearly now.

After a not-so-adorable house hunting trip of my own this weekend, I found out, there is nothing cute about different points of view in the real world.  Our current house in San Diego went into escrow last Friday so I booked some last minute plane tickets to the Bay Area.

Far too much luggage in tow, I wrangled my two rambunctious sons on a plane to meet up with their daddy and search for potential new homes.  Their father wants a house where all his furniture can fit. I want a home with a soul where I can envision our family feeling comfortable.  On a budget below the one billion mark, finding a compromise was surprisingly difficult. We saw a couple houses he liked.  We saw one I liked.

We saw dozens that neither of us could tolerate. 

Then we went to dinner and duked it out.  The husband gave facts and figures, while I painted stories of neighborhood parties and a back-yard tree house. 

So who won?

Me, sort of.  We each said we would move forward with the others favorite.  Then we put an offer on the house I liked best. After battling against two other wanna-be buyers, the seller chose another couple because our purchase was contingent upon the sale of our house.

My husband is relieved.  I am disappointed.  The search continues.  Maybe, in the end, we will find something that makes us both smile.

To Be Continued…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to House Hunters – The Real World

  1. Brinda Berry says:

    I love House Hunters, but I can imagine how difficult it is. On the positive side, it’s better for both of your to be vocal about what you really want where you’ll be happy later. I hope you find something wonderful very soon.

    • hollyyoumans says:

      Thanks Brinda, me too. We all feel so unsettled right now, not knowing where we’re going to be living in about 3 weeks. I’ve put my mom on alert. She may have some extra family members on her doorstep next month.

  2. My husband laughs his head off, as every couple seems to think mansions and rooms of all sizes are “way too small.” 🙂 Good luck your own hunt. I fully support your tree house aspirations!

  3. Shelly T says:

    And to imagine, my huband had to pick out our house on the East Coast without me even seeing it!

  4. Oh the joys of House hunting….. GOOD LUCK!!!

    • hollyyoumans says:

      Ah yes. That’s one thing you don’t have to worry about in the military. They do all picking and choosing for you right? Hope all is well with your expanded family. Getting any sleep these days?

  5. Gosh. I’m stressed for you, but also excited too…good luck my friend 🙂 Miss you much!

Leave a Reply

