What’s My Story

Choices. Choices. Choices. Boy, sometimes I wish life was a little less complicated.  Wouldn’t it be nice if you could walk down the cereal aisle at your local grocery store and rather having to choose, a cute salesman would walk over, tell you which one tastes the best, and then give you a guarantee that that particular box of cereal will give you shapelier thighs and a toner tummy? You could throw those fruity loops into your cart and move on to the next crises.

Life of course, doesn’t work that way.

Last week a potential publisher who likes my writing, said they could not accept Could Have Been Holly Wood as is, because there is not enough up-front focus on my anxiety disorder.  After throwing myself a short pity party, I decided I had a few options to explore. 

A.     Cut the first 50 pages and start where I had my first panic attack when I was thirteen

B.     Keep the manuscript as is, tailor my pitch for a more general memoir, and send it out to other publishers and agents.  

C.     Come up with a compromise. 

After a whole lot of stressing out and thinking everything over, I have started to play around with my manuscript to see if I can move forward with Option C – the compromise.  I don’t know yet if it will work or not, but I am trying to restructure the manuscript in a way that will give my anxiety disorder the spotlight from the get-go, but still maintain my overarching theme.

Most folks who suffer from an anxiety disorder judge themselves pretty harshly.  In my case, I felt so different from my peers that I became convinced I needed to excel in order to simply feel acceptable.  I thought that getting straight A’s in school and securing a high-profile, glamorous career as a television reporter would make me more worthy as a human being. So the theme of my book is what my life’s unusual and often comical experiences, have taught me. It’s our life’s journey, the variety of our experiences, the richness of our relationships, the characters we meet and our inner fulfillment, that makes our lives meaningful.  That’s the story I ultimately want to tell.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s My Story

  1. Hey Holly,

    It sounds like you’ve put some time and effort into your final decision and I wish you all the best.

    No one ever said this was going to be easy, so please don’t lose heart…. I got a form rejection today, (which I know is a lot lot different than your situation,) I was a little pissed off until I realised the boys needed some paper to draw on, so at least this one no! had a positive outcome.

    Down the road, I’m sure you’ll feel the same about this week. Your story is unique, interesting and well-written. Hold your head high, shake it off and don’t quit – don’t ever quit:)

    • hollyyoumans says:

      Thanks Mark! Good for you for giving your boys some paper to draw on. The is the best attitude! The right person is going to recognize your talent and appreciate your story.

      Thanks for my blogger reward. One of these years I’m going to figure out how I can pick it up. I am technologically deficient.

  2. Stacey says:

    That’s the story you SHOULD tell and the one I would WANT to read. You are amazing and talented! I love even without all the extras. Good luck on the rewrites!

  3. Waving Hi, Holly! I remember the original post when you still pondered your options.

    Tough choices. I agree with the others. The compromise–the story you want to tell–sounds awesome. compelling, inspirational.

    If you hear a low level rumble, it’s because it APPEARS those who commented before me have had a peek at your ms.

    grrrrrr

  4. Your story is one worth telling, Holly. So glad to hear you both allowed yourself that pity party and have since moved on to awesome planning and productivity. Eager to follow your progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

