On Writing

I’ve made some good progress on my novel. It was frustrating at first, trying to write with the same speed and ease of my memoir. Fiction, I have learned, is a whole new ball game. It’s all about listening to your inner voice.

In his brilliant memoir of the craft, ON WRITING, Stephen King compares novel-writing to an archaeological dig. “Bit by bit, you travel down through the layers and unearth the thing. It’s as if the novel already exists and your job is to reach into that murky space and bring it up into the light.”

I have been taking his words to heart these past few days, and showing up at my computer screen with an open mind. I’m listening to my characters and slowly discovering their story. It’s an exciting process, entirely different than writing my own story, one I have already lived. I am no longer in control. My new novel is revealing itself to me bit by bit.

I’m eager to learn where it will take me.

For all you writer’s out there.  What is your best piece of advice for a new fiction writer? How do you get your stories on the page?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Writing

  1. ON WRITING is one of my favorites. Congrats on your progress!

    My best advice to writers is to read a lot and write a lot. It’s easy to let self doubt or fear of success get in the way. Not writing is the only sure way to fail. Best of luck in your journey. 🙂

  2. Mark says:

    Aloha Holly,

    For me, it’s always been about setting realistic deadlines, and then sticking to them!

    Getting feedback from trusted readers is also important, as is stepping away from the project before doing edits.

  3. Brinda Berry says:

    Listen to ALL the advice that people give you and then choose to use the things that feel right for you. Every author doesn’t work the same way to rise to great writing.

  4. My writing advice. Don’t lose your own voice, your own vision for your WIP amongst the comments of your critique partners. Brinda is exactly right. Listen to all with an open mind, take a step back t think about it, then only make the changes that resonate with you .

  5. Voula Grand says:

    Hi Holly
    I’ve been experimenting with writing one hour at a time – blog post on this coming soon! It just seems, for me, to be a commitment I can stick to, and I have been surprised by how much I can get done in such a short time!
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

