My Friend Distraction

So what exactly is a writer to do to maintain their sanity while waiting to hear back from a potential publisher? Certainly not check their email every ten minutes. And yes, I’ve been guilty of this on certain occasions.

From everyone I have spoken with and everything I have read, the greatest torture for a writer is the never ending waiting. Waiting for a response from an agent…waiting to find a publisher…waiting for the publisher to publish.  Patience, they say, is a writer’s best friend.

Unfortunately, I was not born with patience. It’s a virtue I hope someday to acquire, though I’m not holding my breath. In the meantime, I have developed a friendship with distraction.

So what is this writer to do while she waits? She will write.

I have written the first few pages of a fictional story. Samantha, a beautiful bohemian woman with a troubled past, has been kicking through my thoughts for six months, demanding to be brought to life. I am listening to her now.  Working to tell her story.

I’ll keep you posted…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Friend Distraction

  1. Shelly S. says:

    How exciting! Your writing style is so fun and engaging. I can’t wait to find out more.

  2. How exciting!! I can’t wait to get my hands on that….

  3. I know the feeling, Holly! Writing is my remedy, too… 😉 Hope when you hear back, it’s great news and that your writing goes wonderfully in the meantime.

  4. hollyyoumans says:

    Thank you ladies!!! I feel better already just reading your posts!

  5. Excellent, I can’t wait to hear Samantha’s story. 🙂 Kelly

Leave a Reply

