Bravest thing you’ve ever done

What is the bravest thing you’ve ever done?

We’ve all done something scary. Moved to a remote city in pursuit of a job…school…love. Jumped out of a plane for the unparalleled thrill. Maybe you signed up for a class to learn the Argentine Tango despite your two left feet.

For me, any new adventure used to feel like a major ordeal. Breaking my typical routine gave me anxiety, driving to a new place brought on the jitters, even buying a pair sunglasses was a bit of a stressor. Thankfully I made a choice long ago to always do what scares me – assuming the fear was unreasonable.

Life, I realized, is better when we live it.

Which leads to the bravest thing I’ve ever done…reporting live on television. It took months to adjust to that cold black lens staring me down, making me sweat, transforming my cheery self into a stiff, wide-eyed possum caught in the headlights. Eventually I adjusted. I learned to breathe and make friends with the camera. I overcame my fears and attained what I wanted most – a business card with my name on it. Holly Kammier. Television Reporter/Weekend Weather Anchor.

It’s the kind of achievement that gives a girl the courage to do whatever else she chooses to conquer.

What is your story? Drop a comment in the box below. Let us know how you fought the fear, big or small, and what it has meant for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bravest thing you’ve ever done

  1. Shelly S. says:

    I just had a pause while reading this and imagined you as a wide eyed possum!

    I’ve done many brave things over the course of my life. The bravest would have to be my husband, kids and I leaving my hometown of 40+ years and moving all the way across the country. As the elusive “they” say, “feel the fear and do it anyway”.

Leave a Reply

