Fearless Friday

I tried something new last week. I pushed myself out of another comfort zone. Just as I was adjusting to telling complete strangers I suffer from Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD) in my memoir COULD HAVE BEEN HOLLY WOOD, I decided to take it a step further.

I called the Anxiety Disorders Association of America and volunteered to serve as a spokesperson. They will refer media to me that calls requesting to speak with someone who has lived with GAD. My original intent was to simply post a story on their website about my personal experience with my disorder. Then the woman I was chatting with asked if she could run a picture of me alongside my story. She said it’s difficult to find people who feel comfortable putting a name and face to their stories because they fear other people’s reactions.

For a split-second I was surprised by this. Then I remembered I had worried about the exact same thing all throughout my teens, twenties, and into my thirties. My fear stopped me from seeking proper treatment and kept me sick.

I can only hope that publically sharing my story with as many people as possible will help others seek help sooner so they may put their own anxiety to rest. Life is better on the other side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fearless Friday

  1. cyelkoth5637 says:

    I just want to say how incredibly amazing I think it is you published/wrote your book, especially with GAD. I am currently going through a similar problem– I have suffered from GAD for 10 years, trying to deal with it on my own, and 3 months ago I had a breakdown. I have been trying still to believe that I can handle it on my own and have just recently begun to admit that I need treatment. But I can’t believe how many days I feel crazy like I will never get out of it. Thank you for your courage. I look forward to reading your book!

    • hollyyoumans says:

      Christa you did the same thing. I look forward to reading your book as well!

      I know how you feel right now and I hope you decide to seek help. There is no shame in going to a dentist when you have a tooth ache or a physician when you break a bone. All the standard self-treatment methods most of us try, like eating right, avoiding stress, and getting enough rest and exercise, are usually not enough to break free from this disorder. You deserve to feel okay again.

      Keep me posted…

Leave a Reply

