Monday Madness

I recently attended three jam-packed days of learning and networking at the L.A. Southern California Writer’s Conference.  It was so exciting, my head is still spinning and I’m running on adrenaline fumes.

Attendee’s had the chance to submit the first twenty pages of their novels for a critique from the experts. I jumped on this opportunity and got some amazing feedback. Best of all, the brilliant editorial director, Lynn Price, of Behler Publications, requested my full manuscript. Her exact words – “I loved the snot out of it.”

I emailed her COULD HAVE BEEN HOLLY WOOD this weekend and will be pulling my hair out until I hear back. I hope she loves it!

Another highlight of the conference was meeting up with my friend Jessica Therrien and her publishing house, ZOVA Books for a brainstorming session. Jess wrote a YA romance/adventure novel about a girl who discovers she belongs to a secret society of individuals with extra-long life spans and unusual abilities. Her book was all set for release in February when she hit a road block. George Clooney went and made a movie with the same title – The Descendants. Major competition. With her working title out, Jess had to think of a new name in a hurry. Together, we came up with something even better.

Series title: CHILDREN OF THE GODS

Book One: OPPRESSION

Oppression hits stores this winter.

You never know what will happen at a writer’s conference. Meet your future publisher, help re-name a book…anything is possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Madness

  1. It was so much fun, and I’m so happy for you Holly! COULD HAVE BEEN HOLLY WOOD was an amazing read. I can’t wait for others to read it as well.

Leave a Reply

